Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Battery discharge?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 08:22 AM   #1

Default Battery discharge?

I have been watching this sight for a while and this is my first post so bear with me. So far I have been reading and absorbing all the tech and how tos like a sponge. I used to run 2wd race trucks about 10 years ago and back then we made our own batteries by using certain brand matched cells and putting packs together. In those days we would after each race put them on a discharge device made of 1156 light bulbs and let them run down to nothing or close to it. So my question is on the new style Ni batteries. say 5000ma should you discharge them like we used to to maintain them and keep them from developing a memory or is that a thing of the past? I have heard you do not have to but I thought I would get some input.
I am new to crawling and scale and am in with both feet. Still a lot to learn.
Thanks in advance

Frank
fsadvar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-2013, 08:58 AM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller

Default Re: Battery discharge?

Discharging NiMh batts is not as important as it was with the old NiCads, not nearly as much of a memory effect. I find it's still important to cycle them periodically, but not down to dead short level. For cycling, down to 1.1/1.2 volts per cell is far enough. When recharging, slower and longer is better, so turn the amps down and let it soak. And be sure to let them cool before putting them on charge, also let them cool once they come off the charger (before using again).
Trubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:28 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trubble View Post