Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: brushed vs. brushless: pros and cons.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2013, 04:05 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default brushed vs. brushless: pros and cons.

Ok guys I'm new to this side of the hobby, I'm a nitro guy that converted, and I'm still learning about the electronic Rc world, what I would like to know is what are the pros and cons for both brushed and brushless motors. Also what do the turn ratings on some motors stand for? I understand that the kv ratings deal with the Rpm a motor will turn at when supplied with x amount of power and other that And the basic differences in how they are built that's the extent of my knowledge. Any help is appreciated guys.
idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-20-2013, 05:55 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: brushed vs. brushless: pros and cons.

Sensored Brushless is most efficient and fastest and can have speed controls that can do a lot of things to make the motor run how you want it. They last longer and require less maintenance.
Brushed is smooth and usually used for slow crawlers or trailing. They need rebuilding but can last a long time with good rebuilds
Sensorless Brushless is garbage

The KV ratings are only for no load. Don't expect the motor to turn that fast when installed.
Turn ratings just tell you exactly how many times the wire goes around the stator or armeture inside the motor. Both types of motors have turn ratings. Lower number of turns gives more horse power and less torque. Higher number of turns gives more torque and less horse power, unless you use a speed control that can advance the timing throughout the rpm range of the motor which would give more horse power. We usually rate them in watts, but it is easier to understand with hp and torque

Last edited by z50king; 09-20-2013 at 05:58 PM.
z50king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:07 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper