Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Keep locking up SAVOX SW-0231 servo's.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 02:14 PM   #1

Default Keep locking up SAVOX SW-0231 servo's.

Hi, my name is Larry and I'm new to the RC crawler hobby. I recently purchased a Wraith off fleabay.com with a Dynamite Tazer 3300kv brushless setup with the fan cooled Tazer ESC that comes as a package deal. It has the Traxxas Link 2.4GHZ transmitter and receiver.

I recently put the SAVOX SW-0231 servo in the front with the Axial horn.

This one:

The first one I bought locked up completely the first run. When it locked up my Traxxas Link receiver went berzerk, it acted like it was starving for power. I went to my local RC shop (Anderson RC in Kernersville NC) the sugested I run a capacitor on my receiver. I also purchased another SAVOX SW-0231 with plans of returning the first one to SAVOX for them to replace so I could have a spare servo.

I installed the capacitor and new servo, truck ran perfect with the 14T 32P spur gear and 52T 32P transmission gear. After about 2 or 3 runs my new servo now acts like it is locking up.

I am confused with this. I have set my steering parameters set according to the Traxxas Link instructions. What should I do? Thanks.
Lrgrnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-23-2013, 03:44 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Keep locking up SAVOX SW-0231 servo's.

When you say locked up. Is it when the steering is full over left or right or in any position?

It maybe that the bec in the esc can't supply enough power to the servo.
M1tch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:50 PM   #3

Yes, the steering servo locks up and sticks at full lock. The first one locked up where you couldn't turn it by hand. Tore the other one down to find some chipped teeth. Turned the gear around where it wouldn't mesh and it's fixed for now.

I am not running a bec, is that the problem?