Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: This is an odd question about a motor/battery that I think you guys can help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 10:55 PM   #1

Default This is an odd question about a motor/battery that I think you guys can help

Some background. I am a MBA business student and I have a non-RC related business idea that I think has potential. Well, why the hell am I asking in an RC forum? Because you guys know a lot about electronic motors and batteries.
I would rather not share my idea at this point but I am hoping that you could at least point me in the right direction.

I need an electronic motor and battery type that meets the following criteria. At this point, cost and size are not much of an issue.

1. Able to withstand a beating. and I mean a consistent, fairly severe beating
2. Long lasting, non-memory forming battery that can take long term freezing temperatures.
3. The motor would be need to be high torque. and I mean high torque. With the right gearing being able to move 100+ pounds at a walking pace.

Any ideas you have would be appreciated.

I have posted this same question on a couple forums so if it looks familiar that is why
Icicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-2013, 11:08 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: This is an odd question about a motor/battery that I think you guys can help

For motors, I would contact John Holmes @ Holmes Hobbies, he does industrial stuff as well as RC crawlers. He either has something you can use, or, he can design/build something.

Tell him "Charlie-III" sent you,

As to batteries, lead acid is one choice, LiFE is likely another. Most battery chemistries will drop off in performance due to cold. Using a little battery power to run a small heater in an insulated enclosure (that contains the battery) may be useful. Even if it's just a low wattage light bulb with a low voltage cutoff.