Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Think I messed up in my ESC choice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Unhappy Think I messed up in my ESC choice

Greetings everyone, before I begin I just wanted to mention that I browsed the Electronics section of the forum and really didn't find any answers to my question. I'm really rather new to the whole RC scaler/crawler scene. I see that you call these people noobs? I guess if the shoo fits lol! I used to build and race cars when I was much younger and they used mechanical SC's lol! They're considered vintage now. Anyway, I think I may have bought the wrong ESC/motor combo and wanted to get your opinion on what I should do. I ended up with the SCT410 Castle Creations 1/10 Sidewinder Short Course Esc which I think is more for high speed trucks verses my Trailfinder2. I'll be running a 2S lipo battery (although I do have a 3s) I want to keep from melting anything or catching it on fire as I've put a bit of money into it. So I'm looking for advice. Can I keep this ESC, or should I go with Castle Creations SV3 Sidewinder ESC 1/10 Water Proof w/ 6900kv Motor Combo? Any and all advice is really appreciated. I apologize about the lengthy post.
tokdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Think I messed up in my ESC choice

way too much power, I like the esc choice but you probably just want to pick up a tekin fxr ( I haven't had one personally but I aim for it) and a 35t to 55t brushed motor, you can still use lipos but from what I can't tell a trail finder isn't meant to go that fast? I have a tekin 6.5t (6700kv) redline and a momba max pro. on my short course truck and it tops out 55+ easy. I heard of people using brushless but aim for 2000kv or less, and sensored so you can have good low rpm control.
fitisbamg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 03:52 PM   #3