Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Electronics info needed

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2013, 07:48 AM   #1

Default Electronics info needed

I just picked up a Losi Night crawler the other night for my son. This is my first time having a Lipo battery. Was wondering if someone could give me some pointers on stuff about lipo batteries? I know they are more expensive than the normal nimh batteries so don't want to mess this one up. I also got an Onyx charger with the truck as well. Is this a good charger to use for this battery? How long does a charged battery normally last? Anything i should look out for so i don't ruin this one?

Thanks,
Ben
Jeepguy91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-07-2013, 10:17 AM   #2
Proverbial threadkiller

Default Re: Electronics info needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepguy91 View Post
I know they are more expensive than the normal nimh batteries so don't want to mess this one up.
Three years ago they were, and the 'name brands' might still be, but......
Duratrax 5000mAh 6-cell NiMh..... $34.99
G-force 5000mAh 2S LiPo..... $18.99
even if you put in an external BEC and stepped up to a 3S,
G-force 5000mAh 3S LiPo..... $26.99
Still leaves room in the budget to buy one of THESE.

That aside, still don't want to see you bugger up a decent battery needlessly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepguy91
I also got an Onyx charger with the truck as well. Is this a good charger to use for this battery?
Which Model Onyx?
I've got a 230, with an external charge-through balancer, and I love it. Works great for my smaller crawler batteries, but if I were to start buying bigger packs for the go-fasts, I'd want more amps.

Quote:
How long does a charged battery normally last?
No experience with worm-drive axles/gear trains, somebody else will have to take this one. Or poke around in the Losi forum and see if it's in there.

Quote: