Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: dean's or traxxas ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default dean's or traxxas ?

So I've been running Dean's forever. I've been into racing since the '80 s always trying to keep up with the Jone's. Last couple yesrs I raced 1/8th scale buggy in which your running 4s 6500 100c lipos. So therefore I saw it important to run Dean's which they weren't really rated for but handled no problem. Well now that I got into crawling, I see no need to run them. I was contemplating switching over to traxxad just because they are cheaper. I have no experience with them at all so opinions would be great.
crazy nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-2013, 04:16 PM   #2

Default Re: dean's or traxxas ?

I agree that Deans are overpriced.

You can get clones of Deans plugs. I've never used them. Some people love them and some people hate them. I have some on order so I can finally try them.

Personally, I switched most of my stuff to XT60 connectors. They are larger than Deans, but it makes them easier to grip when pulling them apart. They are also much, much cheaper than genuine Deans connectors. You can get them on eBay or HobbyKing. Plus, a lot of Turnigy batteries are offered with XT60 connectors so that's one less thing to solder.

XT60

Last edited by JatoTheRipper; 11-10-2013 at 04:46 PM.
JatoTheRipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:17 PM   #3
RCC Addict

You won't see too many people that like Traxxas on this forum, so you'll see most post up Deans and/or use Deans. I personally think they're easier to solder to wires, but if you're new to soldering, the Traxxas connectors are much more up your alley.
Lentsnh2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:38 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper