Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: H2o proofing thought.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2014, 09:15 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default H2o proofing thought.

I'v been researching waterproofing our electronics for several weeks and then I noticed that I have a can of Permatex SA-9. It's a battery protector and sealer.
Now I'm curious, can this protect our electrical conections? What about coating the circuit boards in esc's, servo's and receivers?????

Has anyone thought, used, tested this product to waterproof????????. Thank you.
stelerzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-26-2014, 09:40 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: H2o proofing thought.

I have no experience with that product.

But why not use something made for waterproofing circuit boards? Conformal coating

Tape off connectors, Brush on 2 or 3 coats of CC to the boards, let it dry per inst, top that with black rtv silicon. Done.
WAFFLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:43 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

As the title states, a thought. I just asking a question for info. and it's something i have on hand already.
stelerzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:49 AM   #4
Rock Crawler

I don't know if it would stick well enough for me to trust it.
Grimreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:00 AM   #5
Rock Crawler

When I was using phase change to super cool my CPU for overclocking I'd pack the socket with dielectric grease to protect from condensation and slather the surrounding area with vaseline. WHAT A MESS. But it worked. Other guys would use grease in the socket and put kneadable eraser around it like a water dam. But you can't argue with conformable coating...it's the most professional approach and won't get runny when the circuitry heats up...and you know it's going to heat up.