Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Brushed motor burnt/toast?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2014, 08:53 PM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Brushed motor burnt/toast?

Alright so I have a Holmes torquemaster 45t expert. Was in my 1/6 Willies jeep, specs are scx10 axles with xr-10 mod & scx10 tranny 87/17 gearing, BRXL, Hitec 7950 steering servo on TSS Stockers wrapped in 1.9 TSL XLs. Ran it at least every other weekend for an hour or so on 3s for a good 6 months with no issues. Decided to go with a 35t in it, and put the 45t in my Hilux.

Hilux has similar specs, scx10 axles, tranny, 87/16t gearing brxl, 7954sh servo, on tango downs wrapped in Pitbull growlers. However when I took it out for its debut run, about 10 minutes in there was a burning smell and even a faint sign of smoke when i stopped the rig.

The motor was not too hot, as I was able to put my finger on it for at least 5-10 seconds with it barely being 'warm' in my opinion. Adjusted the gear mesh and tried to run it a bit and still same scenario....burnt smell and now a buzzy/clicking noise.

Got home, took it apart to check brush lengths and comm condition....however as mechanically talented as I am (have rebuilt 1:1 motorcycle/car motors)....I dont really know what I should be looking for

Brushes are approximately 10mm still, when I remove the brushes the armature spins smoothly, except now I hear that clicking I mentioned.

Pics (crappy ones) are below, only thing I 'think' is wrong is the washer that goes on the end bell side of the arm looks chipped/flat spot (in the 7 o-clock position of the pic). Maybe the brushes are toast? they are a little discolored. Cleaned it up with compressed air to get any dirt out, and put it back together and it runs smoothly, but with the clicky and now faint burnt smell still.

Oh, and motor has never seen mud/water if thats important