Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: SCX10 gone through 3 motors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2014, 10:40 AM   #1

Default SCX10 gone through 3 motors

Ok guys I'm fairly new to the hobby and I went with the cheapest crawler to start out. The rockslide rs10 xt. This truck is amazing. My buddy however went a more expensive route and got the axial scx10 rubicon. Plus he had to buy the battery and charger so he was around 475 in. Factory speed controller got wet so he bought the traxxas xl5 speed controller. Then the motor went...so he upgraded from the 27t to a terra claw 20t. Burnt the motor up. Now he has a dynamite 55t and yep he burnt it up. Not doin anything tough runnin through puddles some mud here and there and crawling. I know he's about done with the whole thing so what could the problem be. Gearing? Maybe the battery? It's an 8.4v nm and I know it's not the battery that's supposed to come with the truck. Any help is greatly appreciated
Rcnoob86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-2014, 10:58 AM   #2

Default Re: SCX10 gone through 3 motors

im far from an expert on brushed motors.

is he cleaning the motor out after running through the mud?

dirty water and dirty mud (with lots of aggregate) will eat motor brushes, if you dont clean the motor out after a run, you run the risk of hanging a brush because of the junk in the brush hood keeping the brushed from moving freely.

im sure there are better guides, but heres a simple one i found on google real quick.

Properly Maintain Your Brushed Motor

i hate brushed motor maintenence… so what i would do is spend a little more and get a w/p sensored brushless esc and a brushless motor. you will never ever worry about a comm or brush again.
badhoopty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 11:01 AM   #3
Pebble Pounder