Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: wraith electrical issue

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2014, 12:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default wraith electrical issue

Whats up guys . I'm kinda new to the electric side of the rc world. I have an axial wraith with a savox 1283 steering servo, tekin fxr esc with 45t motor and stock remote and reciever. The problem i am having is after a couple minutes of hard steering the truck acts like its glitching and lights flicker. But when i let off the steering it stops. not sure where to start looking. I just installed motor and esc because the stock esc stopped working it wouldnt run motor just steering. The steering servo was put in exactly a year ago. Everything worked perfect when esc and motor was first installed 2 weeks ago but all of a sudden this.I mostly do minor crawling and trailing.
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-2014, 12:42 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DENVER
Posts: 164
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Yes, you need an external BEC!
WAFFLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:04 PM   #3
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa
Posts: 762
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Yep what he said. Your receiver is loosing power because your steering servo is sucking it all out, which will cause the jerking and glitching and flickering of the lights.

With that servo, only way to solve the problem is to add a BEC.
tgh117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:27 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Crawlolina
Posts: 350
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Get a Castle creations bec. There like twenty bucks. If that doesn't work, you need to reprogram your esc. You need the bec any way, but there is always the chance its not the immediate problem. Good luck!
lostonthetrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Awesome thanks guys. i will order one up. Are they easy 2 install.
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:36 PM   #6
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Interior BC
Posts: 1,788
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

power the BEC at the battery,
then the servo signal (orange or white usually) directly to the Rx.
then the power and ground (black and red) to the BEC.

TaDaH
SwampDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:47 PM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 333
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Dude, I'm a numbskull when it comes to electronics and I did it by my lonesome! You can do it for sure.




Quote:
Originally Posted by ((RC4LIFE)) View Post
Awesome thanks guys. i will order one up. Are they easy 2 install.
el_Fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 01:59 PM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Interior BC
Posts: 1,788
Default Re: wraith electrical issue



SwampDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 03:26 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

yup i should be able to do that no problem. any ideas of i should set the bec at
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 03:59 PM   #10
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South Crawlolina
Posts: 350
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ((RC4LIFE)) View Post
yup i should be able to do that no problem. any ideas of i should set the bec at
I see it often ziptied to one of the crossmembers under the hood. I have the BEC Pro wich is much bigger (you don't need that one unless you plan to run another servo) so I can't give you my own pic but I think you should ziptie it to the chassis near you other electronics.
lostonthetrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 06:47 PM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 333
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

The max that is stated on your servo rating. I run my Savox 1268SG @ 7.4V to get me well over 300oz. of juicy torque.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ((RC4LIFE)) View Post
yup i should be able to do that no problem. any ideas of i should set the bec at
el_Fernando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 08:44 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

That esc says its bec is running at 6 volt and that is what my servo is rated for also. With tekin hotwire i can turn it up to 7.2
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 08:44 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

pushing 416 oz
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 08:53 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 27
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

It pushes 416oz with 6V! And anything above is at ur own risk!

Savox 1283SG is rated up to 6V only!
Yaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 09:34 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

My esc is rated as 6volts as a default is that not enough power. i still need bec?
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2014, 09:43 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Salem
Posts: 14
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

should have a castle bec and programing kit in a week
((RC4LIFE)) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:09 PM   #17
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Turn the mayflower around.. it will never work
Posts: 1,589
Default Re: wraith electrical issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ((RC4LIFE)) View Post
My esc is rated as 6volts as a default is that not enough power. i still need bec?
It's not Browning out or glitching due to voltage but due to amperage.

Think of this. Your battery is supplying the esc with whatever voltage battery you are using. The rx is receiving power out of the esc through the boards and all stuff it runs through in there, cutting down on current and backing off the amperage the battery had. The esc has one main job and that is to supply you motor with power according to signal from rx. Problem is the rx gets power from the esc. The esc is doing its job by sending all current , voltage and amperage to motor and sacrificing the amps to the rx. Typical machine...... Priorities. High internal becs are @ 5 amps I do believe.

So running a external bec you will supply your bec directly from the battery either into rx..... Or directly to servo avoiding the power from running through other components.

Make any sense?
JokersWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



wraith electrical issue - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on Electrical Issue derek12v Axial Wraith 2 04-16-2013 01:23 PM
need some help diagnosing this electrical issue - VIDEO iamsuperbleeder Electronics 15 09-17-2011 10:08 AM
Electrical Issue???? nightcrawler86 Electronics 3 05-30-2009 09:29 AM
Strange Electrical Issue JeremyH Electronics 8 07-04-2008 06:45 AM
Electrical issue xjj33p3r General Crawlers 13 05-27-2006 10:07 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com