Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Can anyone tell me if this is how a sensored motor should run?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2015, 10:05 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Can anyone tell me if this is how a sensored motor should run?

I have a new HH Trailmaster brushless running on 3S, MMP ESC, 56/10 gearing. I have tried every setting in the MMP using CastleLink and nothing seems to change it's behavior. I have tested the sensor cable, and it's continuity is good. The motor seems to start better without the sensor wire connected. Once the motor starts to spin, it runs OK, both with and without the sensor wire, it's just starting it acts strange. With the sensor wire connected, it will whine and jitter a bit, then suddenly start spinning.

Here are a few videos showing what I mean. I am new to RC trucks, so perhaps this is how a brushless motor works, but I'm just looking for some input.

Sensor wire removed

Sensor wire attached

Trying to crawl in my basement with sensor wire connected
flyboy320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-16-2015, 10:11 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Can anyone tell me if this is how a sensored motor should run?

Somethings not right, you should be able to control the wheel speed 100% without the sudden speed. Have you tried the throttle curve setting with Castle Link? Also, try negative exponential on transmitter for your throttle.
bilinvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 10:12 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

No something is wrong.
I had the same issue with that motor, I had to send it back to HH under warranty and the new one is super smooth.
Crank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 10:18 AM   #4
Rock Stacker

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilinvic View Post