Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Trying to make custom 5 LED light bar work

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2015, 09:40 AM   #1

Default Trying to make custom 5 LED light bar work

I bought some warm white LEDs
5mm LED - Warm / Soft White - Ultra Bright Round Top

and a few 150 ohm resistors to make a custom LED string in series for my Axial 5 bucket light bar.
I want it powered by the Rx and controlled by a remote switch.

I knew it's not going to have enough voltage from the RX or my Lipo 2S 7.4v battery to power the lights. I pluged it into my Axial simple LED controller and only 4 of the lights work.

How can I get all 5 to work? I would need some sort of voltage up thing stronger than Axials one? It's my 1st LED wiring job so im a total Noob .

I've read on here about LEDs and used the calculator, but I want the lights in a series and not parallel. Too many wires in a parallel. Also im using 22 gauge wire.

Last edited by Brickman; 03-19-2015 at 09:43 AM.
Brickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-19-2015, 03:54 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: Trying to make custom 5 LED light bar work

if you are intent on series only wiring then you will need to get a voltage step up booster, i made and use one for my lighting needs but thats because i need it small and branded for my circuits, however you could probably get one from fleabay for a few dollars.

as they are only standard leds and max 20ma per led you dont need 22awg wire if you want something more flexible and thinner, i use 28/30 awg for my leds and they tend to be running up to 100ma per string and they have been reliable on that wire, and i have made a hell of alot of them lol.