Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2015, 10:52 AM   #1
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 1,394
Default DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Not sure if this been asks.But this will be short question...
Will the DX4S or DX4C work with my 7 other SR300 revciever or the SR310 receivers..
Right now I'm using the DX3S transmitter.....
I hope it does cause i wouldn't want to start buying new receivers my RC..
rustneversleeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-26-2015, 11:00 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: sacramento
Posts: 325
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

yep they will work
Teasley4Crawlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 11:12 AM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 1,394
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

well that a relief.I guess I'll have to start shopping for a new DX4S or DX4C transmitter....
My DX3S has done me well for about 5 years plus my antenna on my DX3S has broken but still works...
thanks for the help......
OH ya which one would you suggest to buy the DX4S or DX4C or Pro...
rustneversleeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 11:57 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Not the second generation DX4C

They have modified the firmware and are not able to bind with DSM RX anymore...

I have a first gen which can, and my friend TX can't
SilmarilS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 11:57 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

DX4S should be able to bind DSM RX
SilmarilS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 12:25 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Grand Forks
Posts: 46
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

both the DX4C's that my friend and I have bind with DSM and DSM2 with no problems as advertised.
Brute71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 01:11 PM   #7
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: New Brunswick,Canada
Posts: 1,394
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

great at least I'll save a little money Rx even though the DX4S is 250.00..
Just have to start up grading my Rx now
rustneversleeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 02:06 PM   #8
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: martins ferry
Posts: 241
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Just bought a dx4c yesterday with the intention of using it with all my old spektrum rx's. Ya no bueno. Will not bind with any of my old dsm stuff let me tell you how happy that makes me. Looks like the newest version with just the sr410 rx only works with dsm2 and dsmr.
sf2000xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 09:07 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 267
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Yep, and if you check most retailers, Spektrum had a sale on old DSM Rx, I got one for 16$... Now you can't find them, only DSMR Rx...
SilmarilS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:30 AM   #10
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 295
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by sf2000xj View Post
Just bought a dx4c yesterday with the intention of using it with all my old spektrum rx's. Ya no bueno. Will not bind with any of my old dsm stuff let me tell you how happy that makes me. Looks like the newest version with just the sr410 rx only works with dsm2 and dsmr.
Yeah just found out all my spare spektrum rx are now totally worthless to me with my new TX (Dx4c) no to happy right now...

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
baconbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 04:58 AM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: lethbridge,alberta, its mighty windy here!!
Posts: 235
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

if you can get hold of a first gen dx4c then they will work, mine did with my sr310.

they released a 2nd gen to sort the memory saving issue that they couldnt fix with firmware update possibility ( why i got rid of mine in the end)

finding a first gen may be more successfull if its a used rather than new radio.



tony
Awesome-Sauce RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:10 PM   #12
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 295
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Awesome-Sauce RC View Post
if you can get hold of a first gen dx4c then they will work, mine did with my sr310.

they released a 2nd gen to sort the memory saving issue that they couldnt fix with firmware update possibility ( why i got rid of mine in the end)

finding a first gen may be more successfull if its a used rather than new radio.



tony
If you can update the firmware. Than can you "un update" it. And maybe make a gen 2 think it's a gen 1?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
baconbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:23 PM   #13
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 581
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by baconbits View Post
If you can update the firmware. Than can you "un update" it. And maybe make a gen 2 think it's a gen 1?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
That would be nice, but there isn't any older firmware available.

I asked a Spektrum rep at RCX about the exclusion of DSM compatibility on new radios and they said that it is intended to fix the glitching know to occur with old Spektrum systems. Essentially, they are acknowledging that their early tech wasn't great and are trying to phase it out.

In general, any DX4c firmware that was built after January 2015 or, if the production date is unknown, has V2.0 or V2.1 firmware, then the radio will only work with new RXs. I am not sure on the DX4s, since my LHS (where I work) rarely gets any in for stock, but I would imagine that they are similar.
micro racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:27 PM   #14
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 581
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Also, I am not trying to call anybody out, but the spec list for the DX4s only cites DSM2 and DSMR compatibility. In fact, the DX4c only claims to be DSMR compatible. Simply going to Spektrum's website may have saved some headaches.

Last edited by micro racer; 05-05-2016 at 06:30 PM.
micro racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:30 PM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 295
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by micro racer View Post
Also, I am not trying to call anybody out, but the spec list for both the DX4c and -s only cites DSM2 and DSMR compatibility. Simply going to Spektrum's website may have saved some headaches.
Yeah yeah yeah..... I know. I shoulda actually done some research. But my dx4c was a impulse purchase to replace my dx3c lol

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
baconbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 06:38 PM   #16
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 581
Default Re: DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers

It doesn't help that a lot of hobby shops are still oblivious to the change in specs more than a year after they were implemented. I've thrown away some of my co-workers sales because they didn't realize that they radio or receiver they were about to sell was incompatible with the customer's gear. Needless to say, they are all up to date now... most of the time.
micro racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



DX4S or DX4C compatible with SR300 or SR310 Receivers - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference DX4C and DX4S quart Electronics 5 03-26-2015 08:59 PM
Are 27mhz & 75mhz AM receivers compatible? BoogerJones Electronics 2 08-03-2009 05:55 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com