Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Trouble Waterproofing RX8

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2015, 02:19 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Question Trouble Waterproofing RX8

So I've been running a Tekin combo (RX8/T8 ) in my Yeti for a few months. I have used Corrosion X and Conformal Coating on 2 different ESCs. The Corrosion X ESC ran good for a while until it eventually cut out and died after some water/mud usage. The conformal coated ESC lasted for about 2 weeks, but took some severe mud and water punishment that led to its demise. I've since put the second ESC in some rice, with no effect letting it sit over night.

So, i am planning on buying a new RX8 tonight. I Plan on applying 3 coats and then baking it on at the suggested hour @ 150 degrees. After that is set I am going to give it 2-3 coats of plastidip to try and ensure this one lasts me. I am going on Vacation on Saturday otherwise I would send one of the bad ones back to Tekin.

HERE IS THE QUESTION:

Is this going to be enough to keep me from blowing another ESC? I know guys have had very good luck with conformal coating, so I can't help but to feel like I am doing something wrong.

Is there a certin wat to clean?

Is there a certin way to apply it?

How about drying maybe I didn't let it cure fully?

I just want to be assured a little that I'm on the right track, because this will make over $750 in RX8's...
kstowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-30-2015, 03:26 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Trouble Waterproofing RX8

That's a lot of coin my man! You may want to send HH an email and see what they may suggest, they do conformal coating alot. You might also want to think about one of their WP BLE ESC's.

A lot of folks having real good success with that ESC.
gdb85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:43 PM   #3
Rock Crawler