Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2015, 07:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bend
Posts: 9
Question Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

I would like to add lights to my wraith and switch from 2s to 3s batteries. I have an AE-5 axial esc, And a Solar D772 servo. I will be mounting the five bucket light bar and the light bucket set. Is there a way run the servo and lights off the battery?? if so what will i need to complete it?. Thank you for your time and help!!!
Bryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-28-2015, 09:22 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,584
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

The AE-5 does handle 3S, but it then kills it's BEC output, so my recommendation:

Buy a CC BEC (~$21)
Buy a HH Bypass (~$6)

Let the ESC power the receiver (keep red wire in the ESC to receiver plug), but the BEC power the Servo (Use HH Bypass) and the Lighting powered direct from the battery (I solder light wiring to the ESC side of the Deans plug myself).
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 12:02 AM   #3
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

Get a cheaper BEC than the CC. No need to spend $21 when a <$5 BEC will do the same job just as well.
Throughout my R/C career I've been using this BEC everywhere where a BEC is needed (including to feed my crawler servo, Hitec HS-7954SH), and have had no problems.

The main practical difference between this BEC and the CC BEC is that this one can only be set to 5.0V or 6.0V out, while the CC BEC's output can be adjusted to any 0.1V value within a broader range. I never need that.
The 10A output limit of the CC BEC is way more than I've ever needed. 3A continuous and 5A peak is plenty for any application I can think of.

Last edited by Olle P; 09-29-2015 at 12:12 AM.
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 10:54 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Indy
Posts: 381
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olle P View Post
Get a cheaper BEC than the CC. No need to spend $21 when a <$5 BEC will do the same job just as well.
Throughout my R/C career I've been using this BEC everywhere where a BEC is needed (including to feed my crawler servo, Hitec HS-7954SH), and have had no problems.

The main practical difference between this BEC and the CC BEC is that this one can only be set to 5.0V or 6.0V out, while the CC BEC's output can be adjusted to any 0.1V value within a broader range. I never need that.
The 10A output limit of the CC BEC is way more than I've ever needed. 3A continuous and 5A peak is plenty for any application I can think of.

Doesnt work to well if you have high voltage servos. Your 7954 can run at 7.4v and make more torque. Kind of shorting yourself only giving it 6.0v.
68_f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 12:40 AM   #5
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

The 7954 is, by my experience, as strong as I ever need on 6.0V. The 20.6 kg-cm is plenty.

If I feed it more voltage it's more likely to break parts on the crawler rather than get me out of a tight spot. With this servo I've never encountered a situation where I've thought that more servo torque would solve the problem.
29.0 kg-cm (at 8.4V, as fed straight from a fully charged high capacity 2S LiPo) is just silly to use for my rig.
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 05:53 AM   #6
I wanna be Dave
 
binaryterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 3,584
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

What you want isn't what others want. I've run over 6v for years now, before servos were rated to run that high.

3A isn't enough IMO to power a high end servo. and of course I need more than 6v output.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 06:37 AM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Reno
Posts: 236
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

I run the Hitech 7954sh in my yeti with a cc bec I run it at 7.0 volts plenty of power works great never had a issue ( thanks Ninja Turtle).
BigBlokBoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 06:56 AM   #8
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
... 3A isn't enough IMO to power a high end servo. ...
Even high end servos draw much less, typically <0.5A, most of the time. More than 3A is required only for shorter periods, and my BEC has a peak rating of 5A which does cover that.
(When I've measured the current consumption on the 7954 it's still stayed very close to 3A at stall torque though.)
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 10:32 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Bend
Posts: 9
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

Ok guys thank you for the help I have ordered a couple of the HH by pass wires (one for a friend) and bought a cc bec. I will also wire in for my lights but lack knowledge on the best set up. Can I wire it in with a switch? Or what do i use to wire in on the esc side? Thanks again
Bryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 10:39 AM   #10
RCC Addict
 
Norton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo?

If you have a 3 channel radio get a HeyOk light controller! You can do everything from your radio.
Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Best way to handle 3s power for lights and servo? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how does the stock rear axle handle power? Hayden RC Axial Wraith 11 12-29-2014 05:22 PM
How much power can a brushed motor handle? LEADFOOT82 Electronics 1 01-06-2013 08:28 PM
So, what kind of power will a wraith axle handle? Slowkrawl Axial Wraith 11 10-08-2012 11:27 PM
How Much Power Can TLT's Handle? crazyorigin General Crawlers 0 12-04-2009 07:08 PM
how much power can a pede really handle?? slobin3d Non Crawler RC's 9 02-19-2007 10:26 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com