Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Tx advice for a basher/trail Bomber setup

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2018, 03:08 AM   #1

Default Tx advice for a basher/trail Bomber setup

Hey folks. Lurker turned poster.. getting back into RC after a long absence. I raced electrics back in the 80s and 90s and tinkered with some gas buggies after that. All of my wheeltime was spent with a bare bones Futaba 3PKA (I think?), so the new crop of smart transmitters has thrown me for a loop.

What I'm looking for- a Tx /ESC combo that I can set two throttle curves (one for blasting and one for crawling), and a switch to turn the drag brake on and off. If the amount of drag brake can be changed via Tx, that's a sweet bonus. And for giggles, I want an extra channel to turn on a LED light bar because, well, cool points.

Does such a thing exist? I'm pretty new at knowing how these things work and what they're capable of these days.. my racing was done on rotary, servo operated speed controls if that tells you how outta the loop I am. 👴🏻 Budget isn't a primary issue. I don't want an 18 channel airplane tx that looks like a pincushion, but I'm fine throwing some cash at a transmitter I can use for a couple different cars. Might even dig my old SuperShot outta storage.

Thoughts?

Cheers-- TW
Geochimica is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2018, 04:09 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Tx advice for a basher/trail Bomber setup

To be able to turn drag brake on and off, you need an ESC capable of that - and one that can have that set to a 3rd channel. Castle Creations Mamba X is where it's at!

MAMBA X, 25.2V WP ESC, 8A PEAK BEC, DATALOGGING

"AUXILIARY WIRE FUNCTIONALITY