Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: HGMotor rebuild issues

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2018, 09:25 PM   #1

Default HGMotor rebuild issues

Hey Guys,
I picked up (stupidly ) one of those $11 GoolRC or TomTop Motors made by HG in China, a 35T brushed. I'm new to crawlers but have been building motors for almost 30 years. Before even running it I decided to tear it down to "blueprint" it before breaking it in. The magnetic centering was so far off I had to move this weird pressed on brass collar on the shaft just over 1mm before it was even close, and now the brushes are off the end of the commutator! It almost looks as if they tried using an armature from a can motor in this? Anybody else run into this issue? Armatures from yokomo or trinity seem to fit just fine in the HG can.
makoman1860 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-15-2018, 02:19 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: HGMotor rebuild issues

Chances are they did just that, made the can armature fit. Is it possible to just wack the can to remove & reattach the magnets? Usually it's just CA glue or thin epoxy holding them in.
Hydrocarbon92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:45 PM   #3

Default Re: HGMotor rebuild issues