Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Safe voltage level for receivers?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2018, 06:24 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Safe voltage level for receivers?

As was briefly touched on before on another thread, many of our most commonly-used receivers have relatively low "listed" max voltage levels.

For example, the R203GF that comes with the Futaba 3PV I have is rated for 4.8 - 7.4V (shared with servo).

My issue is that I have a Mamba X ESC and a ProModeler 470 servo, and I'd like to use the maximum 8.0v output from the Mamba's built-in BEC to get close to what the maximum amount of power the servo will deliver - it's rated for 8.4v.

However, the power from the BEC would then be 0.6v higher than the Futaba receiver is rated for....

I REALLY don't want to have to wire in a separate BEC, or add an extra LiPo just for the servo.

When I search on the internet, I've run into many comments in RC forums (mostly aviation) that state that usually receivers are OK with some extra voltage, it's servos that are more worrisome.

Anyone have any feedback or information on this?

I worry, because Futaba receivers are not cheap!
durok is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-12-2018, 06:53 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Safe voltage level for receivers?

Rx bypass

Use a bec........
Hang up and Drive
mikemcE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 07:04 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Safe voltage level for receivers?