Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: The right resistor ???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2019, 09:54 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default The right resistor ???

Hey guys, I'm trying to use the COB LEDs out of one of these

For my rock lights. It comes wired to a switch and 4-AAA batteries. There is no resistor or anything other then a switch between batteries and LEDs. When you add all the batteries voltage you get 6v. I tried running a set on 6v from my Rx and smoked them in about 20 seconds. I'm thinking they need to be more like 4v or 5v. Can anyone help me figure out what size resistor I should pick up? Here's a few pics of the boards.

On one end it has NT64 The other end has 10YQ. I haven't been able to locate these boards anywhere to get specs on them. So I'm kinda guessing. From the LED calculator it's saying a 1.7w 2.7k ohm resistor. Does that sound right? I'm new to the electronics world as far as this. Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks for any help!
AnimalHippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-2019, 11:42 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: The right resistor ???

Sounds like you're probably on the right track by stepping the volts down to about 4v, that tends to be a pretty common value in the LED world. But 2.7k ohms seems pretty high.

In my (admittedly limited) experience with AA & AAA batteries, they tend to actually output about 1.2v even though they say 1.5v.

In order to get a better resistor value calculated you need to know the draw (amps) as well as the in & out volts..

To get the values you need, I'd turn it on in it's "stock" setup and check what volts/amps the cob is receiving and go from there.

Or just do some generic googling and see what you can up with in relation to cob lights that are about the same size. But you're basically down to the good old guess and check method at that point..

Last edited by QuesoDelDiablo; 03-07-2019 at 11:45 AM.