Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Hand built esc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2019, 05:53 PM   #1

Default Hand built esc

So im kinda new to the rc world and have noticed electronics are pretty expensive. Im decent with a soldering gun and after looking over a few esc comonents. i almost think i could start building them. Has anyone else done something like this and if so how'd it work for you?
Wattermellon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-10-2019, 06:00 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Hand built esc

There is an open esc post somewhere that talks more about software, but I think there is a link to a github or something like that with a wiring diagram.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Voodoobrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 06:33 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wattermellon22 View Post
So im kinda new to the rc world and have noticed electronics are pretty expensive. Im decent with a soldering gun and after looking over a few esc comonents. i almost think i could start building them. Has anyone else done something like this and if so how'd it work for you?

Uh I think it was easy everyone would be doing,if you have knowledge of about electronics a better options would be to find a broken unit and repair it.
jcanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:04 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

If your looking for a esc for a brushed motor you can get a hobbywing 1040 for 20$ for 40$ you can get a hobbywing 1080 that comes with a programming card and has bec powerful enough to run a high torque servo. For your time and parts I think you wouldn't be saving allot.
Druxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:07 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper

An esc is far more than the sum of its electronic components. You could probably build a mechanical speed control.

But to truly provide a great crawler experience, its all about the programming