Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2020, 01:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Hello guys, instead of waiting next X months for HH SHV500V3 I have decided to buy Futaba HPS servo. I have been waiting too long for SHV500, mayby 4-5 months, and they are still not available.. or they are but very limited quantity, no chance to get one.. I like HH products, but.. I have Traction Hobby Founder 2 (8 kgs), what version of Futaba you would prefer? A700 or CB700? I know the difference on paper, but.. they are available, cheaper then SHVs and they are awesome for sure.. thank you!
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-24-2020, 02:23 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 347
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

None of either ...I would go https://www.agf-rc.com/sa86bvmw-smar...-p2567967.html
themountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 02:34 PM   #3
Tiny Truck Hoarder
 
HumboldtEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Humboldt county
Posts: 3,049
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

HH v3 servo is in stock now, wont last long though

https://holmeshobbies.com/featured-p...0v3-servo.html
HumboldtEF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 10:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by themountain View Post
Thanks, it looks great but I dont know this brand, I would prefer to buy some "proven" brand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HumboldtEF View Post
HH v3 servo is in stock now, wont last long though

https://holmeshobbies.com/featured-p...0v3-servo.html
Thank you, I just checked it and they were really available but now they are again unavailable:-) Im from Europe and because of the VAT and Tax it will cost me 250 USD.. Futaba cost 205 USD here and available immediately. I read really good thing about the 700 serie so I will jump to it, but still dont know if A or CB..
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 04:35 AM   #5
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 370
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

I'd choose A700 of the two. It is fast enough and you don't need the extra speed in a crawler.
Smokin' Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 06:13 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokin' Joe View Post
I'd choose A700 of the two. It is fast enough and you don't need the extra speed in a crawler.
ok thanks.. I read some informations on Futaba forum, Im not sure if it is true or not but someone claims that CB is surface servo and it could be better option for cars because of more impacts, vibrations,... Im not sure but maybe is CBs construction different from A700 which is developed for plains = less vibrations, imapcts,.. I still cant decide between SHV500V3, HPS-A700 and HPS-CB700 all are excellent..
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 10:23 AM   #7
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 347
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy CZ View Post
Thanks, it looks great but I dont know this brand, I would prefer to buy some "proven" brand.

.
If you say so

try something new once in a while
https://youtu.be/7U-mzBrXML0

Last edited by themountain; 06-25-2020 at 10:26 AM.
themountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 12:34 PM   #8
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: truckee
Posts: 917
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

I haven’t tried the CB700 but I have 6 A700 in 5 different cars and it’s by far the best servo I’ve ever used.
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 04:49 PM   #9
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Both the CB700 and the A700 are great. Do you want more torque or more speed?
VMGontheRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 11:28 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by themountain View Post
If you say so

try something new once in a while
https://youtu.be/7U-mzBrXML0
themountain I believe the servo is outstanding, but as I wrote, I would prefer some verified servo:-) but thank you for your recommendation!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja turtle View Post
I havent tried the CB700 but I have 6 A700 in 5 different cars and its by far the best servo Ive ever used.
ninja turtle thank you! That is what I read on many discussions that A700 is TOP DOG :-) I made futher research and Im not sure if I can you A700 with HW 1080 becuase of intrnal BEC (3A), it could be problem becuase I saw some test and A700 can take even 5,5-6A and CB700 only 3A?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VMGontheRocks View Post
Both the CB700 and the A700 are great. Do you want more torque or more speed?
VMGontheRocks I dont know:-D I think CB700 is strong enought or overpowered too and very very fast but is A700 slow? I know the values on the paper but Im not sure if I (amateur) can recognize the difference of 0,6 s:-) only A700 is for 17USD cheaper here than CB700.
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 04:16 AM   #11
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 347
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy CZ View Post
themountain I believe the servo is outstanding, but as I wrote, I would prefer some verified servo:-) but thank you for your recommendation!




ninja turtle thank you! That is what I read on many discussions that A700 is TOP DOG :-) I made futher research and Im not sure if I can you A700 with HW 1080 becuase of intrnal BEC (3A), it could be problem becuase I saw some test and A700 can take even 5,5-6A and CB700 only 3A?



VMGontheRocks I dont know:-D I think CB700 is strong enought or overpowered too and very very fast but is A700 slow? I know the values on the paper but Im not sure if I (amateur) can recognize the difference of 0,6 s:-) only A700 is for 17USD cheaper here than CB700.
You run your car on a HW1080 ?? You will need a BEC then for the Futabas.
themountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 05:24 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by themountain View Post
You run your car on a HW1080 ?? You will need a BEC then for the Futabas.
Yes, HW1080 but for Futaba HPS servos is not recommended to use BEC by the producer. These servos are very special and are powered only directly from receiver.
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:31 PM   #13
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 347
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

As far as I see the HPS 700 is a HV servo up to 8.4V and it pulls 70kg...if you plug that to your HW1080 that thing will brown out in a heartbeat without a BEC....but its your money, brother
That monster servo pulls easily 8amps and the ESC can only handle 3amps(at 7.2V)

Last edited by themountain; 06-27-2020 at 03:33 PM.
themountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 11:20 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by themountain View Post
As far as I see the HPS 700 is a HV servo up to 8.4V and it pulls 70kg...if you plug that to your HW1080 that thing will brown out in a heartbeat without a BEC....but its your money, brother
That monster servo pulls easily 8amps and the ESC can only handle 3amps(at 7.2V)
Themountain - these servos are not allowed to use with BEC, check the web. But maybe they need a better ESC:-) one user here tested CB700 and it took max less then 3A, there are videos too.. where standard servo took 5-6 Amps, CB700 took 2,5 Amps. I have seen test of A700 and it took max 5,5 A but when was fully loaded in the airplane. And I will never use the full power of these servos. So for me should CB700 works perfect. So now I have to decide between SHV500V3 and CB700.
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 04:15 AM   #15
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Palma de Mallorca
Posts: 347
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy CZ View Post
Themountain - these servos are not allowed to use with BEC, check the web. But maybe they need a better ESC:-) one user here tested CB700 and it took max less then 3A, there are videos too.. where standard servo took 5-6 Amps, CB700 took 2,5 Amps. I have seen test of A700 and it took max 5,5 A but when was fully loaded in the airplane. And I will never use the full power of these servos. So for me should CB700 works perfect. So now I have to decide between SHV500V3 and CB700.
Yeah ...whatever
themountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:45 AM   #16
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Everett
Posts: 55
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Futaba doesnt recommend a BEC for the A700 in an aircraft but on the surface it is a must. I have to use a CC bec 2.0 because its the only one that has enough amps for the A700. Its power hungry!!! The CC WP bec will probably work as well but have never tryed it.
derteracing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 11:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 17
Default Re: Futaba HPS A700 or CB700?

Quote:
Originally Posted by derteracing View Post
Futaba doesnt recommend a BEC for the A700 in an aircraft but on the surface it is a must. I have to use a CC bec 2.0 because its the only one that has enough amps for the A700. Its power hungry!!! The CC WP bec will probably work as well but have never tryed it.
Thank you for the important info Derteracing! It looks I will rather wait for HH SHV500V3, sure bet:-)
Billy CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Futaba HPS A700 or CB700? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba HPS-CB700 just arrived norbyx Electronics 17 03-13-2020 10:49 AM
A700 or SHV500v3??? AnimalHippie Electronics 9 03-11-2020 05:34 PM
Futaba servo (A700) programming? Only turns ~60 TheLetterJ Electronics 4 10-05-2019 09:50 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com