Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics
Loading

Notices

Thread: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2020, 03:07 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Can a AXE system run a Reefs Triple 5 System? Website BEC reccomended but not required, not very specific about how many amps needed.

Stock BEC on AXE system is 4a, I asked Amain Hobbies, but they said 10-15a

Am a bit confused here.
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-13-2020, 04:21 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4cV4qgRxIM
RC review tests both the 444 and the 555. Skip to 1:30 in the video for the 555 test. I don't think it pulled more than 5A @ 7.4V from what I seen.
Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 06:18 PM   #3
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crunch View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4cV4qgRxIM
RC review tests both the 444 and the 555. Skip to 1:30 in the video for the 555 test. I don't think it pulled more than 5A @ 7.4V from what I seen.
A little bit over 4a for a 4a BEC at 6v isnt bad right?
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 09:41 PM   #4
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mudville
Posts: 945
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Yes. Up to 7.4 volts is what the Bec will deliver through the circuitry.

I have 2 555s and both are running with an Axe system, and a 420HD with an Axe on my RedCat Gen8 Axe.

Works great.

Last edited by Timmahh; 10-13-2020 at 09:45 PM.
Timmahh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 11:08 PM   #5
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmahh View Post
Yes. Up to 7.4 volts is what the Bec will deliver through the circuitry.

I have 2 555s and both are running with an Axe system, and a 420HD with an Axe on my RedCat Gen8 Axe.

Works great.
2 555s in the same system? Or 2 axe systems with 2 555s?

I've got all the TRX4 electronics plugged in with a servo winch from the stock servo that gets used occasionally, I watched a video by RC review, he got 5a from the AXE, which is 1a more than the 4a stated by hobbywing/amain.

So I should be fine without?

Last edited by TITANIUM94010; 10-14-2020 at 12:22 PM.
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 12:24 PM   #6
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

I also heard that I should have 20% more amps than needed, but I'm not sure.

Should I pick up a BEC to be safe?
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 04:20 PM   #7
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mudville
Posts: 945
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TITANIUM94010 View Post
2 555s in the same system? Or 2 axe systems with 2 555s?

I've got all the TRX4 electronics plugged in with a servo winch from the stock servo that gets used occasionally, I watched a video by RC review, he got 5a from the AXE, which is 1a more than the 4a stated by hobbywing/amain.

So I should be fine without?

3 rigs with an AXE. 2 running a 555 and one running the 420HD.
One righ is my RedCat, with the 420HD. One is my SSD/RC4WD Orange rig, with a 555. have a winch and lights to install yet.

the other righ is the SCX10III with all reefs servos, will also get winch and lights though I have yet to do this build, I have no concerns with the AXE and the 555 with the 2 Reefs Micros on the 2spd and dig.
Timmahh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 04:35 PM   #8
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timmahh View Post
3 rigs with an AXE. 2 running a 555 and one running the 420HD.
One righ is my RedCat, with the 420HD. One is my SSD/RC4WD Orange rig, with a 555. have a winch and lights to install yet.

the other righ is the SCX10III with all reefs servos, will also get winch and lights though I have yet to do this build, I have no concerns with the AXE and the 555 with the 2 Reefs Micros on the 2spd and dig.
Alright, thanks!
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 07:08 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 407
Default Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Honestly I always use a Castle BEC. There is no reason not to. Combined with a Holmes adapter to make wiring easy. Lights/servos/winches will have all the power they require. Itís cheap insurance and piece of mind imo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RockCrawlingKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 03:50 PM   #10
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 190
Default Re: Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockCrawlingKid View Post
Honestly I always use a Castle BEC. There is no reason not to. Combined with a Holmes adapter to make wiring easy. Lights/servos/winches will have all the power they require. Itís cheap insurance and piece of mind imo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm just working on a ton of projects right now, so money is limited. I'll see how it goes, if I need one, I'll get it, but for now, I'll just try it without a BEC
TITANIUM94010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Can Hobbywing axe run a Reefs 555 servo? - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbywing AXE misaligned terminals chunkydonkey Electronics 5 09-16-2020 10:13 AM
Hobbywing AXE turbo timing? TITANIUM94010 Electronics 2 08-06-2020 03:20 PM
Hobbywing Xerun AXE Jboucher Electronics 563 06-29-2020 01:09 AM
Hobbywing Axe Overheating MarcoMayhem Electronics 8 05-16-2020 03:53 PM
Hobbywing axe? Ddcross Newbie General 17 05-13-2020 04:40 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com