Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > EnRoute Berg

Notices

Thread: Turtle's skeeter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 09:50 PM   #1
Gettin’ back on the horse

Default Turtle's skeeter

Well I have problems leaving well enough alone.
So I built a new berg.
I decided to try out the fubar Skeeter chassis. I got it in the mail and was instantly impressed. I have never run a delrin chassis and was frankly a little scared I was going to break it. I pulled it out of the packaging and had to give it the flex test. Didn't break it yet. So I began to pull apart my Deimos and bolt up the skeeter and since it was a new chassis I decided a few new parts wouldn't hurt either.
I picked up a Hitec HSR-5990TG servo for the steering. At 333.29oz of torque at 6volts I figure it would be a nice step up from my worn out 985.
Next up was my shocks, I have been running the same Duratrax (rear) evader shocks for 2 years. And since they wouldn't hold oil for more then a couple days and I didn't feel like rebuilding them I picked up a set of the Losi crawler shocks. The Losi shocks went together really easily and I ended up drilling out the ball end to fit 3m screws. I intially limited the front and rear shocks 1/4 inch on the inside with fuel tubing. So far so good.
I had a few issues with my dig system I constructed, moving the switches and forcing them to stay engaged with the Deimos setup, so I decided to throw out the old idea and take something from others on the board and make a dig plate out of a old delirn skid plate and tap the switches to 3m, then simply cut a rectangle out of the center of the plate to bring my servo through the bottom. Piece of cake.