Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > EnRoute Berg

Notices

Thread: Build a Berg instead??

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2013, 12:14 PM   #1

Red face Build a Berg instead??

Hello everyone,

I need some advice. I have been running a LNC in sporty this season and I am still pretty new to the hobby. But I love crawling and I am totally hooked. I am pretty limited on funds as I am able to save and spend about 80-90 dollars a month. I want to get into the pro side and my first thought was an XR10. I got a great deal on a stock chassis with upgraded links, alum knuckles, and alum high degree turn arm. No axles though. I have been putting together a shopping list to get a descent set of axles built (following build rec's from the forums) and the list is really expensive to build a good XR10 axle. It is also getting harder to find the parts.

I started thinking about running Berg axles on my stock XR chassis. I have read that the axles are pretty beefy and reliable in stock form, but can be a little heavy. As a beginner, I am not too worried about the weight and I like the idea that I don't have to upgrade almost everything on the axle to make it descent. (XR10 axles) I have seen 3 videos, all from the same guy, of a berg axle on the front of his XR and a stock XR axle on the rear. It looks like it did well but many of the threads in this category say "don't do it". They say the geometry is wrong and you will suffer.

1st question--Do you know if anyone has had luck with running Berg axles on a XR10 chassis?

2nd question--If I were to scrap the XR10, try to sell the chassis I bought, and go Berg instead, what axles to you recommend? I see Enroute berg V3 axles, V1 2.2 axles, etc...