Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > EnRoute Berg

Notices

Thread: Wiring Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2017, 09:05 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Wiring Question

If this is the wrong place for this post, my apologies. Mods, please move as necessary.

Alright, I made an attempt to wire up my Berg based Hulksta Riddler today. I'm using a HH BR mini dual pre wired with a BEC, 4 channel Futaba Rx (B+4), 4PLS, HH Bypass Y Cable, Hitec 7950, and 2 Tekin 35Ts connected to the ESCs with bullets. I'll preface this by saying I have no idea what I'm doing. This is my first attempt at wiring to this degree on a crawler. I got the Rx bound to the Tx and got as far as having steering. I honestly have no idea which channel to use for the 2 ESCs. I think my 4PLS uses channels 2 and 4 for throttle, but I think part of the problem is my Y cable doesn't seem to be carrying power to my Rx, like I thought it was supposed to. I can't use channels 2 and 4 on the Rx because of this. I have to plug one of the ESCs into the B channel to get the Rx to bind. Otherwise, the light on the Rx just stays red.

Also, the BR mini dual has one set of lights that were blinking at different points. Are there supposed to be 2 different sets of lights - one for each ESC?
A couple of times, I got the ESC lights to react to throttle, and the wires to the front motor would twitch when I hit throttle, but then the ESCs started to smoke and was VERY hot. Not good. I immediately pulled the battery (which was hot as well) and pulled all wires from the Rx. Tried it again the way I was trying it when it wasn't smoking (which wasn't reacting to throttle), and the ESC(s?) seem to still be ok. I have ZERO idea what's going on here. Neither motor has turned, but I have steering consistently. I was also under the impression that the red wires from ESCs to Rx were ok in this situation since I'm using the Y cable. That might be completely wrong too.