Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Miscellaneous > Formula Offroad

Notices

Thread: A newb builds a FOFFer - aka WTFOFF

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2016, 08:13 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default A newb builds a FOFFer - aka WTFOFF

I only got into the hobby about a year ago, but have kind of gone off the deep end since then. I'm a builder at heart, and just love to make things. These little guys are also a great way to spend time in the winter months here in Michigan when it's too cold to be riding motorcycles and tinkering in the garage.

A few months ago I finished my first custom build, a little sand rail to tool around in the back yard. It turned out even better than I had expected, and since moving late last year I found there's a construction site (more apartments I think) just down the road from my house. I took the rail out there a week or 2 ago and it was a hoot... but I thought that a FOFF build would be just the ticket to rip up and down the dirt/sand piles.

So here we are.

Wheels, tires, axles and motor/esc are all either on hand or on order (although I'm having a problem with my ebay-ordered axles, over a week and they still haven't shipped...). Since I've got most of my parts figured out, I'm hoping this will be a fairly quick build. Hell, it may even be done before all the snow melts! This won't see any comps or anything, just a general basher. I do however have a tendency to take what is supposed to be a "basher" and start adding scale stuff... sometimes to no end.

Parts list so far
-All metal AR60 axles
-RC4WD FOFF tires (although they look a bit small, so we'll see)
-Chinese (gasp!) aluminum beadlocks
-Trackstar 21.5t brushless combo
-2200mah 3s lipo
-AX10/SCX10 trans
-Traxxas 100mm big bore aluminum shocks
-3D printed engine and other doo-dads