RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   G-Made Crawlers (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/g-made-crawlers/)
-   -   R1 Brushless motor fit issues (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/g-made-crawlers/410783-r1-brushless-motor-fit-issues.html)

paintedgyp 11-01-2012 01:36 PM

R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Hey guys,

I'm a newb lurking on the forums for quite some time now, and finally broke down and bought myself an R1. Been enjoying the build immensely, everything's gone well so far, until I realized that the tekin 13.5t brushless motor does not actually fit with the junfac delrin skid, doh! it might fit with the stock skid plate though I wanna inboard the lower links. I've seen someone on the boards running the same motor with the R1 so I incorrectly assumed it worked without much modfication...

Any thoughts on how I can fit this thing without hacking into the cage too much? thought about getting r7r's long skid which may work? his website's under construction (i have contacted him, haven't heard back) and I can't find any other sources to buy (if you know of any places or wanna sell yours, let me know;)

attached some images for reference-

thanks guys, i appreciate any thoughts/advice/input! :)

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/j...b/IMG_0963.jpg
build as it current stands

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/j...b/IMG_0964.jpg
close up

http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/j...b/IMG_0965.jpg
close up w/ motor

tedo 11-01-2012 02:17 PM

Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I encountered something similar when I had my R1 and a 13.5... I got it to fit with the stock skid, and later with ripper's long skid. I did have to grind down some of the frame, but not enough to cause structural damage.

Is there multiple holes to move the skid back? I thought there were 8 holes (4 on the side)? I believe you can set it back, then you only have to grind the screw hole behind the upper driver-side link.

paintedgyp 11-01-2012 07:26 PM