Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > G-Made Crawlers
Loading

Notices

Thread: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Hey guys,

I'm a newb lurking on the forums for quite some time now, and finally broke down and bought myself an R1. Been enjoying the build immensely, everything's gone well so far, until I realized that the tekin 13.5t brushless motor does not actually fit with the junfac delrin skid, doh! it might fit with the stock skid plate though I wanna inboard the lower links. I've seen someone on the boards running the same motor with the R1 so I incorrectly assumed it worked without much modfication...

Any thoughts on how I can fit this thing without hacking into the cage too much? thought about getting r7r's long skid which may work? his website's under construction (i have contacted him, haven't heard back) and I can't find any other sources to buy (if you know of any places or wanna sell yours, let me know;)

attached some images for reference-

thanks guys, i appreciate any thoughts/advice/input!


build as it current stands



close up



close up w/ motor
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-01-2012, 03:17 PM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 999
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I encountered something similar when I had my R1 and a 13.5... I got it to fit with the stock skid, and later with ripper's long skid. I did have to grind down some of the frame, but not enough to cause structural damage.

Is there multiple holes to move the skid back? I thought there were 8 holes (4 on the side)? I believe you can set it back, then you only have to grind the screw hole behind the upper driver-side link.
tedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

thanks for your response tedo, yes, with the stock skid, there are 8 holes that allow a setting back of the tranny/motor. one thing i really wanted to do though was to inboard the lower links... if i cut the stock skid like elbo's R1 greens, that mod unfortunately eliminates 2 of those mounting holes...

i guess i might have to bite the bullet and use the stock skid with the lower links outboard (at least the rear pair), or just wait to see if i can get my hands on ripper7's long inboard skid...
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 999
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintedgyp View Post
thanks for your response tedo, yes, with the stock skid, there are 8 holes that allow a setting back of the tranny/motor. one thing i really wanted to do though was to inboard the lower links... if i cut the stock skid like elbo's R1 greens, that mod unfortunately eliminates 2 of those mounting holes...

i guess i might have to bite the bullet and use the stock skid with the lower links outboard (at least the rear pair), or just wait to see if i can get my hands on ripper7's long inboard skid...
Ah, gotcha. That makes sense. What about flipping the tranny, and then reversing the throttle on your tx? Just an idea.
tedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:14 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedo View Post
Ah, gotcha. That makes sense. What about flipping the tranny, and then reversing the throttle on your tx? Just an idea.
tedo, yes, good call, i was just thinking that too. additionally i may flip orientation of the skid too, to get the mounting holes more forward, to get yet more space for the motor (though if it works, the weight distribution will be slightly more towards the rear than the standard configuration). let me play around with things and report back. thanks for your ideas!
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

what about that ?

Hem's garage.
hemdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemdale View Post
what about that ?

Hem's garage.
hemdale, thank you so much for your link, that definitely looks like a workable solution to the issue. for now though, i have managed to get in touch with Ripper7777777 and i'm waiting for his long inboard skid in the mail!

taking a look at your thread, the electric setup diagrams look quite helpful too, i'll probably refer to them as i wire up my r1.
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:24 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

My pleasure.

Please let me know if you managed to fit the Tekin Redline 13.5T with this setting.
Note that the upper right link you are about to attach "outside" will be a bit of a friction against the overall R1 structure. No biggie, but still...you will have the front suspensions a bit "stiffer" because of a lack of the front left suspension not being able to go all the way down.

However, I'm very interested in this motor as well but a bit afraid of buying somethign I couldn't fit in the R1.

Keep me posted buddy.
hemdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:02 PM   #9
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spalding, Lincs, UK
Posts: 235
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I had a similar problem fitting a Novak motor to mine, I just extended the four link mount on the axle out slightly with a 7mm spacer each side, countersunk the mounting hole in the cage and mounted the top links outside the cage using countersink hex drive screws. Worked a treat, the motor missed the screw by about 1 -2 mm, and everything moved freely.
Tonysmini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:32 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

So I've successfully gotten the 13.5 brushless motor to fit without any modification to the cage or mounting locations, after receiving Ripper7777777's long inboard skid in the mail!

Because of the way the cage angles in though, even though I had enough 'length', i was still needing 'width', so I ended up flipping the skid and the tranny orientation so the motor faces towards back, and the motor misses hitting the alternate upper mount by about 1mm. The downside is the weight distribution is more towards the back than the standard orientation, but I'll compensate for this in wheel weights, battery locations, etc.

thanks again everyone who responded (i may still try out some of those methods if i don't like the flipped orientation of things), and special thanks to lance who got his machine running and made the part for me

some pics:



flipped both orientation of skid, and the tranny/motor:



just misses the upper link mount by ~1mm....
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 06:39 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I should also add that by doing this, I'm going to need a longer universal shaft, because of the extended distance between the tranny and the rear axle. Will be probably be ordering this part to fit into it-

Junfac Hardened Universal Shaft for Tamiya CC01
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:40 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Good work ! What pinion do you have on the Tekin 13.5 ?
hemdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:10 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Good question, it's one of the next things I have to figure out, I just have the stock 12 tooth pinion in now. Also have to figure out what batteries to use.... Decisons, decisions...
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 05:19 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Paris
Posts: 22
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintedgyp View Post
Good question, it's one of the next things I have to figure out, I just have the stock 12 tooth pinion in now. Also have to figure out what batteries to use.... Decisons, decisions...
Probably not too many teeth on the pinion to put not too much strain on the motor. Try with the stock 12T pinion to see first how it goes.
hemdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:25 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coarsegold
Posts: 6
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I know I am a newbie but here is my soulution to this very same problem
I got myself a rc4wd r2 transmission redrilled/taped the trans case to fit the R1 derlin skid/mount with this I gained space for the motor and a much smoother trans mine also has a good Dig and the stock Junfac drive shafts work fine and are more centered then with the stock trans....Just my .02
DBCFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:31 AM   #16
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 190
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBCFR View Post
I know I am a newbie but here is my soulution to this very same problem
I got myself a rc4wd r2 transmission redrilled/taped the trans case to fit the R1 derlin skid/mount with this I gained space for the motor and a much smoother trans mine also has a good Dig and the stock Junfac drive shafts work fine and are more centered then with the stock trans....Just my .02
Your right, so much more room when you go with the RC4WD R2 Tranny, this was the tranny I went with when I built my r1 piece by piece, I've since upgraded to the r2 dig unit tranny and it has been way awesome to use.
bikerzee24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:50 PM   #17
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 52
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

I flipped the orientation of mine too. I'm running a redline 9.5, 14 tooth and 3s. Thing's a maniac! On 4 wheel steering it looks like the tazmanian devil doing donuts. It can almost do a standing back flip .
Mnocton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 10:10 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: nyc
Posts: 19
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBCFR View Post
I know I am a newbie but here is my soulution to this very same problem
I got myself a rc4wd r2 transmission redrilled/taped the trans case to fit the R1 derlin skid/mount with this I gained space for the motor and a much smoother trans mine also has a good Dig and the stock Junfac drive shafts work fine and are more centered then with the stock trans....Just my .02
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikerzee24 View Post
Your right, so much more room when you go with the RC4WD R2 Tranny, this was the tranny I went with when I built my r1 piece by piece, I've since upgraded to the r2 dig unit tranny and it has been way awesome to use.

Thanks guys for your advice! I'll see how my set up works first (yeah, it's still sitting as a roller) hopefully will get it up and running for the spring/summer, and do a bit of research on the r2 trannys
paintedgyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:48 PM   #19
Pebble Pounder
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 190
Default Re: R1 Brushless motor fit issues

No problem, good luck
bikerzee24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



R1 Brushless motor fit issues - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shaking issues ... going from brushless to brushed = solution ? shannow Electronics 10 11-10-2010 12:47 PM
Help Needed: Sidewinder and Brushless outrunner issues Szczerba Electronics 16 06-10-2010 04:36 PM
Any heat issues with brushless? rctoyguy Team Losi Comp Crawler 1 06-03-2009 04:08 PM
Brushless motor issues in my WK custom1106 Non Crawler RC's 2 01-18-2008 09:02 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com