Axial 27t brushed motor, 12t factory pinion
JunFac carbon steel driveshafts

Electronics:
Holmes Hobbies BR-XL ESC, waterproof version
Castle 10A BEC @ 7.4v [plasti-dipped]
PunkRC Dual Steer Computer [plasti-dipped]
FlySky GT3B transmitter & GR3C 3-channel receiver
HobbyKing 850mah 3s batteries x6 [plasti-dipped]

Last edited by derb; 12-07-2013 at 04:44 AM.
derb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-18-2012, 12:42 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Project SR-71: A Stealth R1 Build

This is my second crawler after owning a Tamiya CC-01 for about 6 months now. I'm very new to the RC game, and I love the CC-01 dearly, but I wanted something that could handle a lot tougher terrain and easily keep up with my mate's SCX10.

I've has the R1 on my radar for a while, but as soon as I saw the Stealth chassis kit, I knew I had to have it and that pretty much decided my theme for me. I've done some of the standard hop-ups like the bent links, chrome diff covers and JunFac axles. And after a lot of reading I started with a 55t motor, vented the stock beadlocks while adding 70g weights to the fronts, and configured the suspension as droop front, sprung rear. Then I set the BR-XL to 70% drag on the Holmes Hold setting, maxed the BEC and set the LiPo cutoff and that's it in terms of electronics.

Then it was onto some looks with added functionality. The servo was sky blue and the batteries a darker blue, which obviously didn't fit the theme, so I used Plastidip to coat the servo and batteries with a thin, but durable and waterproof black coating. The servo was already a waterproof Hitec unit, but the batteries didn't look that watertight so I dipped them and now I can go into nice deep mud/water. I would definitely require this ability because...