Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > G-Made Crawlers

Notices

Thread: GMade Komodo....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2016, 01:23 AM   #1

Default GMade Komodo....

Hi

I have just purchased a Komodo kit and need some help with the electronics choice. I'm new to crawlers but not new to RC, my background is in cars, trucks and heli's.

I will be mainly using this in the garden and out at some local places that have some interesting terrain.

First off 2S or 3S power? I'm leaning towards 3S Li-Po with high C ratings I want to run lights and want to keep things simple.

Next is ESC. I've been looking at the Castle sidewinder V3 or a Hobbywing QUICKRUN 10BL60. Any thoughts on these? Or could you recommend one?

Now for motor options... I am looking for suggestions here. I want to go brushless and it must be 3S.

Lastly the steering servo. I have been looking at the Savox series as I am familiar with them but is there a high torque one you can recommend?

Thanks for any help advice you can offer

Rich

Last edited by Rich23; 01-04-2016 at 01:24 AM. Reason: Autocorrect
Rich23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-08-2016, 04:36 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: GMade Komodo....

Congrats on the rig.

I'd look at the Tekin roc412 set up or a Holmes Hobbies brushless. Mamba max pro esc by castle.

Hi tech or savox are good. I've ran both and have had good luck. I'm trying to decide which I want as well for my Komodo. I have a cheap take off on it at the moment.

Savox 1210 steel gear waterproof alum case 222 oz @ 6.0v $82 us
Savox 0231mg waterproof plastic case 208 oz @ 6.0v $37 us

I'm sure there are better I have a couple 0231mg and they work fine for 1.9s.

However you will want to get a external BEC.

Hope this helps.
Randy Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 07:32 AM   #3

Thanks for your suggestions.