Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > G-Made Crawlers

Notices

Thread: GMade R1 Rock Racer?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2016, 12:05 AM   #1

Default GMade R1 Rock Racer?

Howdy folks. I'm new to the rc hobby, so predictably some of the questions will be of the obvious kind. I picked up an ECX Temper and am having a lot of fun modding it and crawling over whatever I can find. Of course it didn't take long to start wondering what my next rig would be. Watched a lot of u-tube stuff and rock racing has really caught my eye. Looks like more fun than a barrel full of monkeys and the rigs are really cool. I saw an R1 at my local hobby shop and thought it was a great looking rig. I know it's marketed as a crawler, but I was wondering what the forum's opinion would be about building it as a rock racer. Looks like the portal axles would be an advantage for clearance, if they'll hold up to some higher speed and jumping. I've already read about the bearing issue and am prepared to deal with that by throwing bearings at it regularly. But what about the rest of it? Suspension design/geometry? Size and weight? Handling? I'd like to build one with the idea of doing some racing, so it'd have to fit into a class within the rules. It'd also be nice if it was reasonably competitive with the competition. Does an R1 sound fun, or am I barking up the wrong tree and need to get an Axial?
PNW Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-2017, 04:02 AM   #2

Default Re: GMade R1 Rock Racer?