I wanna be Dave

Default You dropped a BOM on me

Cue the opening music:
https://youtu.be/17lkdqoLt44

As you've probably figured out, I got one of these:
Name:  DSC03888.jpg
Views: 1606
Size:  71.5 KB

Why, you ask? Well...I've never built a GMade kit before (my R1 Frankenstein doesn't count since it uses all Axial running gear), and this seemed a good place to start. Plus, Roo decided he was bored with building CMAXs after assembling his 3rd (true story...he refused to help with the F350 build), and I needed something else to keep him entertained. This seemed like a good excuse to try something different.

The box is rather bossy:
Name:  DSC03889.jpg
Views: 1527
Size:  64.1 KB

"Assemble kit." Already it's trying to tell me what to do. I don't like taking orders, so I ldelegated:
Name:  DSC03620.jpg
Views: 1548
Size:  83.6 KB

Roo noticed right off the bat that the axle housings were on a tree:
Name:  DSC03622.jpg
Views: 1518
Size:  82.5 KB

He wondered why they couldn't mold them without a tree like everyone else seems to do these days. Tough audience.

Tires are fun:
Name:  DSC03639.jpg
Views: 1510
Size:  54.7 KB

E-clips aren't:
Name:  DSC03638.jpg
Views: 1528
Size:  59.7 KB

When was the last time you built a kit that had more e-clips than M3 lock nuts? I'm guessing never (unless you just happened to finish a BOM in the past week or so). One of them tried to escape for greener pastures (Roo's words, not mine) by jumping off the table. But we managed.

The tranny has an interesting design. The top section has 3 gears with an open bottom:
Name:  DSC03664.jpg
Views: 1535
Size:  51.0 KB

Name:  DSC03667.jpg
Views: 1515
Size:  55.6 KB

There are two other gears with shafts that rest in the skid:
Name:  DSC03675.jpg
Views: 1513
Size:  53.8 KB

The tranny then rests on the skid, turning these two shafts:
Name:  DSC03682.jpg
Views: 1521
Size:  54.0 KB