Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Alternative materials

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2008, 10:45 AM   #1

Default Alternative materials

I worked in the sign trade for several years and as an alternative to aluminium sheet for sign we started to use a material called Dibond. This is a sheet of polyethylene with a sheet of aluminium bonded on either face. It's very still, light and easy to work with.

I've just made a 4-link plate out of some, and am considering making a TVP chassis out of it next.

Anyone else use non-standard materials for stuff?

Pic of some Dibond...

Fat-Alfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-09-2008, 12:01 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Wow, neat I'm going to have to try that.

I USUALLY make small fast bashers. I'm new enough to rock crawling that I barely have a foot in yet - my first machine isn't a full crawler, nor is it even done ;)

As such with speed, I need to look at high impact resistance materials. the material I used last was UHMW polyethylene (Ultra high molecular weight).

I got a board 2'x1'x0.125". To test, I beat on this with a hammer, pinched a small corner with pliers and flailed around hoping to see if it would collapse on it's own weight. NADA.

It's not being used in my crawler currently. But my rc18r/xray dohickey.

It's imo the turkey jerky of plastics.

I've been looking for something stronger, but haven't found it. I do like the idea of sandwiching it between aluminum. Metals are generally stronger in tension than compression, so a thick center of light plastic does sound interesting. How is it bonded to the aluminum? doesn't it delaminate when working with it?

I've done a little research of physical characteristics on plastics.
fyi - for dotmar, their polystone = uhmw poly.
http://www.dotmar.com.au/solutions/impact.htm