Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: New to Crawlin with an AX10 ARTR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2009, 08:56 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Thumbs up New to Crawlin with an AX10 ARTR

Hey everyone,

I was turned on to these little machines yesterday at my LHS. This is exactly what I have been waiting for in surface RC! I have been flying RC helicopters for 20 years, and compete at the national level in precision aerobatics. I'm also a member of Team Kyosho as a factory rep pilot, flying the Caliber 90, 6, and 450V series helicopters.

Given that, I'm no noob to RC, but I am to this cool "new" aspect to surface RC. I look forward to browsing what seems to be a mountain of info on this forum. I read enough to already make the desicion to order an AX10 Scorpion ARTR from Tower last night.

I went with the Novak T55 brushed motor and Rooster ESC, but I'm still on the fence regarding Brushed or Brushless. I have read that many prefer brushed for starting torque and low cost, but I know of many advantages of brushless motors from my air RC experience.

I'd like to hear some no-BS answers to this debate.

Also, I see many folks are using 4+ channel radios for the many features these trucks can have. So, that means a lot of you are using air-style, dual stick RC transmitters. How do you like using them as opposed to pistol-grip style radios? I have a JR 9303 heli radio that's converted to XPS to use on my AX10 initially, but I may want to get a Futaba 3PK on FASST in the future. Thoughts?

See you all on the courses!

Erich

Last edited by ErichF; 02-18-2009 at 10:29 AM.
ErichF is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-17-2009, 09:12 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder