Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: first braze job, what do you guys think?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2009, 12:28 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default first braze job, what do you guys think?

searched around and got a few pointer here, so I decided to give it a try and make myself some rock sliders for my Tundra. I figured at my shop we have a oxy-acetylene tanks, might as well used them, and here's what I came out with:

So I fudged one on them because the brazing rod didn't have enough flux, and it's held on with scotch tape, but what do you guys think?

Last edited by Happy_trucker; 05-16-2009 at 12:30 AM.
Happy_trucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-16-2009, 12:50 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Good job,,Im new to it my self,,and if you have a shop where you can get to that stuff,Build all you can! I went through 4 cans of oxy to 1 map gas tank "Thats about $50,not to mention another $50 for the torch gun and hoses" I just wanted to try to build one since it was cold out and nothing much else to d,but mostly because I read a comment by someone "Its much more fun to build your own,Anyone can slide a credit card" Yea I agree now that I have built my own chassis that there is some kind of reward of building a one of a kind,,but It is no where cheaper unless you have access to free stuff. Sorry to get off subject of your post but just wanted to let others know,I dont think there is anything wrong with buying products already made
I would give those rock sliders a quick spray of paint,look much better
ProfitOfDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 01:03 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

I'm not quiet done with them yet. I will shoot some black paint on them when I'm done. Now that I understand how to braze a little and I have access to the equipment and material, I'm thinking the same thing, I want to build a tuber chassis on my own.....well at least as much as I can.