Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers
Loading

Notices

Thread: 9.6v

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2005, 10:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Default 9.6v

first of all i am new here and me and my buddy just got a pair of jeeps. for now were are going to leave them basicly stock .. miet cut a couple of coils off the shocks... anyway. i was looking thru the instruction manual (i dont usualy use these things but the bateries are charging) i got to the back page and it says normal operating voltage is 6.6 - 9.6 V for vehical. so i went rummaging thru my old stuff and found 3 old tyco 9.6v batteries that have the same connection on the end. so althou they dont fit in stock location. i am woundering if this will burn up the board?? i dont want to mess this thing up just yet.

thanks for any help

the loaf
love_loaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-19-2005, 12:29 AM   #2
RCC Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,124
Default

The board can barely handle the stock stuff, all its going to do is give you shorter run times and make the axles that much easier to break.
Trike Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 03:44 AM   #3
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: CRAWLifornia (SoCal)
Posts: 58
Default

not true,I've been running a 9.6 since I got mine and it runs longer than the stock battery,haven't had any problems with the board. the reason I went with the 9.6 is cause I'm running a die cast body so the stock battery would die quickly. with the weight of the plastic bodies if you run the 9.6 it spins the sh!t out of the tires. just my 2cents.
madzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 06:59 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: classified
Posts: 320
Default

I peak charge all my batts, 7.2 goes to 9.6 everytime. I don't have any problems w/ my stock or modded Nylint. I'm not sure if it's the same thing.
Lt. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 11:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Default

wow thanks for the quick responses. there just tyco batterie packs and i am not using a peak charger. so i think i will give them a try.... thanks!!
love_loaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2005, 10:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Angelo
Posts: 2
Default

ive been running 9.6 in mine since i got it, and its still running. be sure to shim the axles first or it will strip the gears.
aaronh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com