Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Offroad lights

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2006, 03:36 PM   #1
Debunking old stereotypes

Default Offroad lights

Hello folks, newbie here at rccrawler, I've checked out all the Nylint posts, some cool and creative ideas, I'm taking the best and incorporating those with some of my own ideas. One thing I didn't notice was an offroad lights post, I've seen the head light and tail light posts, ( I had mine done before stumbling onto this site with a quick trip to Radio Shack).
Just before X-mas while shopping at Northern Handyman WWW.Northernhandyman.com I picked up one of those head lights that you use for hiking/biking and in my case plumbing, well before it even got used for work I spoted an even better use for it, lol the head is lil and has a nice shape, it also has the switch on the light head and a battery pack connected by about a 15" wire, I cliped the elastic band off and with very lil trimming on the light itself I came up with a very bright, functional (4 led's in each head) easily mounted offroad light, I put 2 on my 1:6 and 1 on my 1:18, I mounted them with 1 self tapping screw so they swivel and they also are ajustable so they can be pointed backwards. The lights were $6.00 ea and work awsome, with a run time of 30hrs on 2AA batteries. I took some pic's but can't figure out how to post them? I'm completely computer illiterate. If someone can help? I'd be glad to post them.

with elastic band still on, with band off.

battery pack

a lil flexing

EDIT PIC springs were getting a lil weak, added some Savage shocks, going out to test right now.