Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Drive shafts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 12:32 PM   #1
Jus
I wanna be Dave

Default Drive shafts

I'm extending my Honcho wheelbase out to around 13" or maybe slightly under. My MIP shaft is too short, of course I completely overlooked that and it wasn't until my links were all made to perfect length upper and lower did I find that out..

I don't think the MIP extended Wraith end would help me. I took a shaft off my wraith to compare and it's just too little engagement of the male/female ends to not worry about it.

I want to stay with steel. Don't trust plastic on this truck. Not with handwound motor on 3s with the 1.9 tsl-sx XL.

I'm looking at the RC4wd options, they make some pretty interesting drive shafts but I have no experience with them. They sure are pricy.

This is the first one I'm looking at.
Mega Truck Universal Shaft "Ver 2" (125mm to 165mm) The c-clips bother me though. I'd be worried about rocks popping them off. Too bad, they are the perfect length. I need an operating range between 5.50" and 6" ideally.

And then there is this one, which is really awesome. Who's had them and how do they actually work over time? My truck sees a lot of miles every summer so they would definitely see a lot of use. I'm wondering how long they last. I'm not seeing much in the way of rebuild parts on their site.
Ultra Scale Hardened Steel Driveshaft (4.92"/6.29"-125mm/160mm) 5mm They are both expensive, but would be worth it if they are well made.

Last edited by Jus; 01-21-2014 at 12:40 PM.
Jus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-21-2014, 05:19 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: Drive shafts