Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: sand crawler!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2018, 05:57 PM   #1
tdc
Rock Stacker

Default sand crawler!

not to be confused with the star wars sandcrawler.

i live in an area of the oregon coast with a ton of sand dunes and wide open sandy plains. we (me, my brother, and our rc buddies) have some go fast rcs that are a ton of fun out in the sand, but recently i was thinking it would be neat/novel to have a crawler or maybe low slung monster truck as a recovery vehicle with like a forklift or something on the front to go out and flip our sand toys back on their wheels and keep us from having to leave the shady sidelines.

i'm still kinda new to the whole rc thing and thought it might be a good idea to get some opinions on what to base this build off of. i'm hoping to do it on the cheap, so something common that i could pick up used would be cool. originally i was thinking of grabbing a used scx10 or something and putting wide axles with monster truck sized wheels under it, but i thought i might ask what the masses who've been at this longer than me thought.

thanks for any input!
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-2018, 06:17 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

Default Re: sand crawler!

My first thought was to mount a big wedge or ramp on the front of something heavy and hope you could flip a car over by ramming into it. Aside from that, the lifting mechanism would probably be more trouble than it's worth.

Either way, there's a good chance this creation will end up looking like it came out of robot wars or battle bots
TooOldForThis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 06:31 PM   #3
RCC Addict

I would think you could build a lift mechanism along the lines of the front blade on the Kyosho Blizzard.
Inspector86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 06:56 PM   #4
tdc
Rock Stacker