RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   General Crawlers (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/general-crawlers/)
-   -   Building an Aluminum Gooseneck Trailer (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/general-crawlers/617707-building-aluminum-gooseneck-trailer.html)

KenB925 04-27-2020 06:25 PM

Building an Aluminum Gooseneck Trailer

5 Attachment(s)
A couple months ago a couple of buddies and I started playing with crawlers. I got a trx6, then a trx4. One of the other guys is building an awesome crawler playground in his back yard.

I thought it would be pretty cool to see a gooseneck trailer towing a crawler behind the 6x6

So, here it is.

The perimeter is 1” x 1” x 1/8” angle, the cross supports are 1/4” x 1/4” bar. The main frame rails will be 2” x 1/8” flat bar and i’m going to make the hitch out of aluminum round bar and tube.

I’m welding it up with a spool gun, tig would be cleaner, but I don’t have a tig machine...yet...

I’m going to do some standalone lights on it.

It will be able to haul 2 crawlers, or one crawler and some beer.

72square 04-27-2020 06:28 PM

Re: Building an Aluminum Gooseneck Trailer

Looks awesome. Sub'd

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

christ0r 04-28-2020 01:08 AM

I was actually wanting to do the same thing. I'll be keeping a close eye on this!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

JacktheRipper 04-28-2020 05:09 AM

Good start, looks huge on the saw horses. Not to nick pink so do not take it as a slam. Aluminum good choice, what's used to hold things together?

Look over the hitch, the design seen below helps stability and turning, backing.

https://www.gatormade.com/wp-content...icdovetail.jpg

No matter I'll will be check out the progress as build it, like the idea good one

Pep

JatoTheRipper 04-28-2020 07:12 AM

Welcome to the site! Very cool start to your trailer.

KenB925 04-28-2020 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JacktheRipper (Post 6017749)