Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: New Scale Rig - Need some input.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2020, 03:54 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default New Scale Rig - Need some input.

Noob here post #2, try to be nice. This can be a religious discussion for some.

My plan is to something mainly for scale crawling.

Sorry if I missed the previous post. I did a search and don't think it's been addressed directly. There is one thread that had TRX4 with SCX10 III, when the SCX0 III was brand new and no one had it. Others with VX10 chassis and TRX parts, or SCX10 III with VS4 chassis. etc...

Starting with I no experience with scale rigs and have some questions. I know that a lot of this comes down to preference, but since I have no preference it really doesn't apply.

I have seen a ton of videos on this, but I have not seen a summary that says what they can and cannot do, or even personal preference. Mostly they just wheel them and say they are great.

The choices are
Vanquish VS4-10 Ultra
SCX10 III
Traxxas TRX4 Sport

The Vanquish is a bit pricey and you get some good stuff for it. Most of it are things that I would like to do on the others anyway. Also there is a non-portal option if I want to go that route. The Vanquish would be the winner, but the $$ add up quickly.

I've seen the "clicking" problem with the SCX10 III and seen the fixes, the pin and the gear slop both. It seems like a bad design combined with a documentation issue. Also the shocks are said to leak. Even though SCX seems to be the standard for scaler and mods it's also seems to be lacking a QA dept.

The TRX4 looks good on paper. Not a fan of the (un)locking diffs and the parts have limited interoperability with other brands. It is also the most reasonably priced. So what's wrong with it, aside from to much plastic?

Please post your preference and why. And/or why you would not buy the other brands.
itr1275 is offline   Reply With Quote