Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Thinking of building a course in my yard?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2007, 05:23 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Thinking of building a course in my yard?

So I am thinking of building a small crawling course in my yard.

I would like to get some ideas from you guys!

I am fairly new to crawling and just started building a WK.

So I have very little experience with this stuff.
has anyone ever done this before
and if you have pics that would be awesome.

thanks allot.
Mac10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-08-2007, 08:43 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Im working on one on some property I own. I have found its best if you can start with a hill or berm. Then dig out some gulleys and holes and such to help vary the terrain. Highly recomend using weed barrier under the rock. Boulders are nice to use but can be expensive to buy, 16 tons worth cost me $300 delivered (then you have to move them in place). Several people have built their ownn courses, if you look on here you will find several with pics. Any material can be used on a course, busted concrete works good, riprap is good for smaller rigs and filler. If your married plant some flowers maybe put in a little pond and stream and tell the wife its for her. Another alternative people have tried is to build their own obsticles out of wood, wire and concrete. Kind of like how they build the urban rock courses they use at 1:1 comps. Good luck and remember to lift with your legs not your back.
jetboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2007, 09:03 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave