Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Another first tuber try. Need advice please.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007, 08:21 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Another first tuber try. Need advice please.

Hi guys, This is my first try at brazing up a chassis. I tried to copy a design I saw here I thought was very cool.

However, I am not happy with the front and rear where the tube ends show. Any ideas on how I could fix that? Still have to install link and shock mounts. Not sure exactly where to put those either.

I think I can sand the brazed joint to make them look smoother. They didn't turn out as nice looking as I hoped they would. But man are those joints strong! Harris # 45.

Any other advice or criticism would be appreciated. Thanks! -Bob

CRAWL_BOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2007, 12:51 PM   #2
RCC Addict

First off, looks good. Nice welds; clean flowing lines. Nice.

Suggestions.

You need something to brace that huge front end. One good tumble and you will bend that if it is not reinforced. One quick way is the solid maroon lines (dotted just show you where they should flow into). I would say you will need more that that, but I would have to hold the chassis to tell you exactly where. Something connecting that front to the main cab, get creative. You also need the solid red line, not just for strength, but also to have someplace to mount your hood. The lower bars will be needed too; you did not say what axles you were using (by the design I can only guess clod; no trans mount) but you need something down there incase of a fall.

I put the green line there just because it is nice work, all one piece- very hard to do on your first try (shit, I still can't do it! lol)