Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: noob, with noob questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 06:55 PM   #1

Default noob, with noob questions

Hi everyone I'm new to the scalers. I really want to build one, on the the super cheap, High school budget. I have a Nitro Stampede, one complete and one parts Smarttech trucks (Asian T-Maxx knock offs) and plenty of parts. I can build the frame easy enough, and I have the electronics covered (stock Traxxas ESC and servos). I would probably use the stampede tranny, but the Smarttech tranny is a single speed no reverse trans as well. the only parts I really don't have are wheels/tires, and axles.
My questions are: is that a some what decent start? whats a good and cheep axle to use? where would be best to get one? and is anyone looking to trade some parts?
thanks for any advice, I appreciate it
farmerstoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-12-2010, 07:17 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

yes your to a good start im running tamiya highlift axles. i usually get my stuff from rpphobby.com or tcscrawlers.com hope that helps
balln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 01:50 PM   #3

Thanks for those two sites!
I started on a frame today, going with 1"x1" steel tube, which will be split in two pieces. just a flat frame for now. my wheelbase is based off this body, because I plan on using it.
a couple more questions,
Are these axles any good? or will that be super weak?
how wide should i build my frame?
Should I go 4 link or leaf sprung? I have all the pieces for 4 link, but I like leafs more. i would build leafs out of recoil started spring, but how should i make them?
thanks guys and links to similar build would be awesome, thanks
Old 01-13-2010, 05:32 PM   #4
Pebble Pounder