Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: 1.9 to 2.2 differences?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 02:19 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default 1.9 to 2.2 differences?

I've been into the crawlers for a while now, but I'm still a newb to the scale scene so I'm curious...whats the difference in a 1.9 truck to a 2.2? I know the tire size is different, but is that the ONLY difference? I currently have a Axial AX-10 Scorpion that I want to convert to a scale truck, so any input along the way is much appreciated (chassis suggestions?). I have a Tamiya Humvee body I'm going to try and fit then build around all that fun stuff lol. Thanks guys-
M109R is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-04-2010, 05:27 PM   #2

That is pretty much it. I think that generally the smaller the wheel size, the more scale they tend to be built. 2.2's are more monster truck like, 1.9 guys want a more scale look but don't go all out, and the 1.55 guys seem to build the most scale. Of course that's not always true, but is what I have observed.
Stew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 06:34 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

2.2s most of the time are on comp scalers that need gratuitous axle clearance. They dont look as scale like /\ this man says because they really look more like a monster truck. Most 2.2 tires are in the 5" range so they are similar in comparison to a 50+inch tire on a 1:1 which has to usually sit really high to clear them. Most scalers are kept really low to hide the rc components therfore looking more realistic. 1.9s and 1.55 allow for a lower sitting truck without cutting up fenders and panels to accommodate say a 2.2 tire.
blukon98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 07:18 PM   #4
On the lookout for Rocks

The only difference b/w the 2 is the wheel size...1.9s or 2.2s....bottom line.
constantmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 05:23 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper