Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: n00b Scratch build research

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2018, 08:53 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default n00b Scratch build research

Alright, I'm still new to this hobby, but after breaking into it by building a SCX10.2 kit for my 1st crawler. But after seeing some amazing work here, I've got the scratch build bug to customize my next new rig from the start...

I'm currently debating which scale trans / frame to build around: RC4WD's R4, GCM LRT, or the SSD scale trans for the SCX10. But I'm still uneducated of the basics for the majority of the hobby.
Are the frame rails for the TF2 based builds normally further apart than the SCX10 ones? One point of debate for me is I'd love to have the RC4WD's scale V8, which will directly bolt to the SSD and the R4, but I'm thinking it may not fit between the shock hoops on SCX10 based builds.
Also, I'm planning on the SSD Pro44 axles, so will they work with both SCX10 and TF2 setups?
TIA
Ironhide13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-28-2018, 07:56 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Default Re: n00b Scratch build research

So, no one's compared the three scale 'missions before? Or no one wants to help a n00b?
Old 01-30-2018, 12:20 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

GCM stuff is great, IMO. look at their youtube channel, the cmax in particular is incredible, and you can put scale trans/motors in there.

what body are you going with? that would help determine the right chassis also.
but if you are doing scratch build, you can do... pretty much whatever you want!

as for axles, its all about matching driveshafts (length and diff input/t-case shaft diameter) and making the links work, unless you go leafs just make sure you get the right hardware to connect everything... or just fabricate your own mounts!
Shinchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 11:13 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper