Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: Wpl c44 km

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2020, 05:16 PM   #1

Default Wpl c44 km

Just put this thing together and waiting for electronics.

My first venture into these litte things so I have no experience at all of the cheaper plastic kit and rtr versions but boy this is impressive for the price.

The axles are gorgeous just lovely solid little things I could hold them for hours. The gears seem really nice it has great little universal's and a huge steering angle and no slop in the knuckles at all so none of that camber look.

Everything feels nice the drive shafts are solid and the link set up too.

The 2 speed hangs a bit low I will see to that also plastic gears in the gearbox but steel are available and the plastic holds up well most say.

The shocks are rubbish but at the cost I'm amazed how well WPL have done.

The body is stunning it fits together well I like how it clips to the chassis. The wood on the deck is a real treat it's just beautiful all around.

The tyres are very soft I worry about side hills as there is no foams so will see perhaps might need to make something up.

The electronics I went the easy and easy to fit under the hood route with the version 3 sound/rx/tx/esc/winch control combo I've watched a few videos and it seems really good value. I'll no doubt flag the silly sound speaker. It has 2 speed control lights on and off and winch all in 1. The kit comes with a metal gear steering servo that has plenty of power so I've read

The winch looks really well done and lifts the trucks weight.

Total cost including the aluminum axle truss is under 150 bucks. Infact if shopping around the winch can be had for 10 bucks the truck for 63 and the electronics for 35. Very very cheap indeed

Hopfully will be running this thing soon.