Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: $1000 budget for a new rig.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2022, 04:44 PM   #1

Default $1000 budget for a new rig.

Hi all. I’m pretty new to this 2 months at best. I already got a TRX4 2021 Bronco no upgrades other that a Traxxas bec,Savox servo, wheels and tires and a losi night crawler SE 2.0 with a Hobby wing 1080 and heavier wheels.
Things I like so far
A) Trail/crawler capable. More inclined to crawling on rocks and obstacles than going fast.
B) Power-wagon, old truck and suv bodies looks (prefer hard bodies) open to lexan.
C) love how the night crawler SE crawls and articulate. (After i put a HW1080 heavier wheels and new tires) it crawls like a spider with the worm drives

Don’t like
A) The body looks of the night crawler, capras and the like.
B) the lack of wheel speed with the worm drive.

I think I’d rather spend the money doing a new build than modifying the RTR’s I already have. I have a ceiling of $1000 for the project including a new controller, I’d love to get the crawling feeling of the losi with the looks of something else and more speed that a sick turtle.

I’m quite overwhelmed with all the options out there. If you have $1000 to spend, what would you build/buy second hand or RTR to modify?
Thanks for your feedback.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Alxe24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-07-2022, 05:25 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Default Re: $1000 budget for a new rig.

I bought a VS4-10 Pro and was fairly disappointed when compared to a well tuned SCX10.2. The conclusion I came to was to start with some good bare bone components and spend the rest of the money on tuning.

I'd recommend either the SCX10.2 builders kit or the (still on sale) Element Gatekeeper kit and spend the rest finding out what upgrades work best for your driving style and terrain.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using Tapatalk