RCCrawler Forums

RCCrawler Forums (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/)
-   Holmes Hobbies (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/holmes-hobbies/)
-   -   Caring for your new Brushed motor (http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/holmes-hobbies/125790-caring-your-new-brushed-motor.html)

wurster 08-14-2010 09:21 AM

turns

I have a 35 turn hh torkmaster.And love it.but what dose turns mean?And and what turn is beter for wheel speed and tork.My last ax 10 had a 18.5 turn.I now see people running 7 turn motors.what dose it all mean?

DA1378 09-04-2010 09:55 AM

Hey John, i just ordered 2 HHSP45's through SK (HH site only had one in stock, needed 2), for my XR10
I would imagine these are a more simplified motor, without adjustable timings?
Any extra advice or information would be fantastic.

Do you recommend a break in, or are they already broken in?
Thanks much, can't wait to try these motors!

JohnRobHolmes 09-07-2010 07:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wurster (Post 2587966)
I have a 35 turn hh torkmaster.And love it.but what dose turns mean?And and what turn is beter for wheel speed and tork.My last ax 10 had a 18.5 turn.I now see people running 7 turn motors.what dose it all mean?

The turn is the number of wire wraps around each segment. Higher turn motors make more torque per amp, lower turn motors make more power (and speed) for a given voltage.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DA1378 (Post 2620811)
Hey John, i just ordered 2 HHSP45's through SK (HH site only had one in stock, needed 2), for my XR10
I would imagine these are a more simplified motor, without adjustable timings?
Any extra advice or information would be fantastic.

Do you recommend a break in, or are they already broken in?
Thanks much, can't wait to try these motors!

The instructions that come with them will give you good detail about the motors. They are timing adjustable, and the brushes have been seated but not fully broken in. Follow the instructions and you will be good to go!

DA1378 09-07-2010 08:53 AM